Cyber Success Stories

 

 

HarfangLab protects France’s 3rd largest fiber optic infrastructure operator. Guillaume Dubuc, CISO, testifies.

Context

Altitude Infra is France’s 3rd largest fiber optic infrastructure operator. The company brings fiber optics to 12.5 million people in France, and deploys, operates and markets its networks in 29 départements. Its sales in 2023 were 700 million euros.

The company urgently needed to secure its information system, not only for the optical fiber itself – i.e., the infrastructure that enables digital data to be transmitted throughout France – but also for the tools created by the company (network management software, infrastructure maintenance tools, etc.).

Guillaume Dubuc, CISO at Altitude Infra, originally had an EPP to secure his information system, but was beginning to see its limits.

“I realized that EPPs and antivirus were no longer sufficient. Attackers just need to change a small comma in a line of code and the attack can go ahead. I found the EDR approach very interesting. In particular, the fact that it detects threats on the basis of behavior, thanks in particular to artificial intelligence, and not just on the basis of signatures.”

Guillaume Dubuc, CISO

His goal? Strengthen threat detection without impacting the business, and with a minimum of in-house human resources.

As Altitude Infra’s teams are largely made up of telecoms engineers, servers and PCs have to be fast, and RAM and CPU consumption limited.

To benefit from specialized expertise and strengthen its security, the company outsourced its SOC, while maintaining an in-house team focused on decision-making and strategy.

Why HarfangLab?

After an analysis of the various EDRs available on the market, and on the advice of MSSP Capfi 6ème sens, his choice fell on the HarfangLab EDR.

Deployment

Within a month, HarfangLab agents were deployed on Altitude Infra’s 1,500 terminals.

“Deployment was easy, and we were well supported by the HarfangLab and Capfi 6ème sens teams. The console interface is also very intuitive and quick to learn.”

Guillaume Dubuc, CISO

 

Support

To meet the need for 24/7 reactivity in the event of a tip-off, Altitude Infra calls on the services of MSSP Capfi 6ème sens.

“Capfi 6ème sens monitors our security tools with a dedicated team, available 24/7. This service provider stands out for its professionalism and the quality of its interventions; they only call on our in-house team in situations where a proven doubt requires in-depth knowledge of our internal processes. What’s more, their choice to work exclusively with French talent and tools (most of which are ANSSI-stamped) ensures responsiveness and compliance with French and European cybersecurity standards.”

Guillaume Dubuc, CISO

Results

Guillaume Dubuc, CISO, is very satisfied with the HarfangLab EDR in terms of threat detection, but not only.

The EDR also enables him to maintain control of the information system, particularly with regard to the use of the information system by local administrator staff.

“It’s very reassuring to have the EDR keeping an eye on what they’re doing, and sending me alerts when necessary. When they install software or forget to run updates, for example.”

Guillaume Dubuc, CISO

What’s more, as the HarfangLab console can be controlled via API, it integrates very easily into any work environment. Guillaume Dubuc has even improved the use of his console by creating a bot that systematically sends him alerts of a certain level in the Teams application.

Employees’ working environment is preserved thanks to limited consumption of machine resources: the HarfangLab EDR requires only ~130 MB of RAM and 0.5% of CPU. This is thanks in particular to the Rust language, which combines performance and lightness. HarfangLab agents can also be deployed and updated without rebooting terminals.

“Businesses can carry on as normal, as the EDR has no impact on the user experience.”

Guillaume Dubuc, CISO

Cyber Success Stories

 

 

HarfangLab protège le 3ème opérateur d’infrastructure de fibre optique en France. Guillaume Dubuc, RSSI, témoigne.

Contexte

Altitude Infra est le 3ème opérateur d’infrastructure de fibre optique en France. L’entreprise permet à 12,5 millions de Français d’être éligibles à la fibre optique, et déploie, exploite et commercialise ses réseaux sur 29 départements. Son chiffre d’affaires en 2023 était de 700 millions d’euros.

L’entreprise a impérativement besoin de sécuriser son système d’information sur la fibre optique en elle-même – c’est-à-dire l’infrastructure qui permet de transmettre les données numériques à travers toute la France – mais aussi sur les outils créés par l’entreprise (logiciels de gestion du réseau, outils pour entretenir l’infrastructure, etc).

Guillaume Dubuc, RSSI chez Altitude Infra, disposait à l’origine d’un EPP pour sécuriser son SI mais commençait à en voir les limites.

« Je me suis rendu compte que les EPP et antivirus n’étaient plus suffisants. Il suffit aux attaquants de changer une petite virgule dans une ligne de code et l’attaque peut passer. J’ai trouvé que l’approche proposée par l’EDR était très intéressante. Notamment le fait qu’il détecte les menaces à partir des comportements, notamment grâce à l’intelligence artificielle, et non pas seulement à partir de signatures. »

Guillaume Dubuc, RSSI

Son objectif ? Renforcer la détection des menaces sans impacter les métiers, et avec le minimum de ressources humaines en interne.

Les équipes d’Altitude Infra étant composées en grande partie d’ingénieurs télécoms, les serveurs et PC doivent être rapides et la consommation RAM et CPU limitée.

Pour bénéficier d’une expertise spécialisée et renforcer sa sécurité, l’entreprise a externalisé son SOC tout en maintenant une équipe interne axée sur la prise de décision et la stratégie.

Pourquoi HarfangLab ?

Après une analyse des différents EDR disponibles sur le marché, et sur les conseils du MSSP Capfi 6ème sens, le choix de Guillaume Dubuc s’est porté sur l’EDR HarfangLab.

DÉPLOIEMENT

En un mois, des agents HarfangLab sont déployés sur les 1 500 terminaux d’Altitude Infra.

« Le déploiement a été facile, nous avons été bien accompagnés par les équipes d’HarfangLab et de Capfi 6ème sens. L’interface de la console est également très intuitive et rapide à prendre en main. »

Guillaume Dubuc, RSSI 

Accompagnement

Pour répondre aux besoins de réactivité 24/7 en cas d’indicent, Altitude Infra fait appel aux services du MSSP Capfi 6ème sens.

« Capfi 6ème sens assure la surveillance de nos outils de sécurité avec une équipe dédiée, disponible 24/7. Ce prestataire se distingue par son professionnalisme et la qualité de ses interventions, ils ne sollicitent notre équipe interne que dans des situations où un doute avéré nécessite une connaissance approfondie de nos processus internes. En outre, leur choix de collaborer exclusivement avec des talents et outils français, la plupart tamponnés par l’ANSSI) assure une réactivité et une conformité aux normes de cybersécurité françaises et européennes. »

Guillaume Dubuc, RSSI

RÉSULTATS

Guillaume Dubuc, RSSI, est très satisfait de l’EDR HarfangLab sur le niveau de détection des menaces, mais pas seulement.

L’EDR lui permet également de garder la maitrise du système d’information, notamment sur l’utilisation du SI par les collaborateurs administrateurs locaux.

« Cela me rassure énormément de disposer d’un EDR qui garde un œil sur ce qu’ils font, et qui me remonte des alertes quand c’est nécessaire. Lorsqu’ils installent un logiciel ou qu’ils oublient de lancer des mises à jour par exemple. »

Guillaume Dubuc, RSSI

De plus, la console HarfangLab étant pilotable par API, elle s’intègre très facilement à tout environnement de travail. Guillaume Dubuc a même amélioré l’utilisation de sa console en créant un bot qui lui remonte systématiquement les alertes d’un certain niveau dans l’application Teams.

L’environnement de travail des collaborateurs est préservé grâce à une consommation des ressources machines limitée : l’EDR HarfangLab ne demande que ~130 Mo de RAM et 0,5 % de CPU. C’est notamment grâce au langage Rust, qui allie performance et légèreté. Les agents HarfangLab sont également déployés et mis à jour sans redémarrage des terminaux.

« Les métiers peuvent poursuivre leur activité normalement, l’EDR n’a pas d’impact sur l’expérience utilisateur. »

Guillaume Dubuc, RSSI